Overgrowth

So this photograph is one that I’m particularly pleased with, as it shows an interesting situation – the fusing of nature and man made things (in this case, an old kitchen mop). This was pointed out to me by a friend, who also found it fascinating, and I couldn’t pass up on the opportunity to photograph it.

The photograph itself was taken in the backyard of a student house in Hyde Park, Leeds.

I feel that the film has captured the atmosphere of a student backyard in the Hyde Park area –  fairly neglected, quite old-fashioned architecture and used primarily for rubbish (or dumping old mops).

The situation of the mop-turned-eco-system fits into this image of a student area, and in my opinion is better portrayed by the film than a digital photo. It adds a rustic edge, and compliments the idea of ageing things.

I’m pleased with the way this has turned out. It is one of a few photos I have taken on film that looks the way I imagined it would before the film was developed.

Photo was taken using a Praktica MTL3.

Leave a Reply

