On Ilkley Moor Baht’at

I recently went on a wander to Ilkley Moor, after meaning to have visited all year (since I live in Leeds while I’m at university). After a short train ride we set off walking – it was a beautiful day, and I’m slightly disappointed that most of the photos I took don’t show the extent of the blue sky there was. The views were breathtaking, I burnt my shoulders (after refusing to accept sun cream) and we all returned home absolutely shattered! I definitely want to revisit and go wandering further across the moors, but I think I need to invest in a map and find out where some more interesting places are to go first.

IMG_20150623_0020
The Cow and Calf Pub, taken from the rocks above
IMG_20150623_0026
View across the Moor
IMG_20150623_0018
Trees on the Moor

I think I overexposed quite a few photos here, ignoring the fact that it was already a very sunny day and still allowing more light into the lens. NB’d for further photo-taking adventures.

IMG_20150623_0029
Part of the Cow and Calf rocks


Even though the next two are quite blurry, I do enjoy the way that the Praktica focuses and can cause seemingly excessive blur. I think it adds another element of depth to the photos. However, I am learning that if you don’t pay careful attention, the blur can be too much. It can show the moments when I forget how delicate the camera is and that I need to spend a few more seconds adjusting the camera rather than getting overexcited about the photos I want to take.

IMG_20150623_0036
Behind the Cow and Calf rocks

IMG_20150623_0033

In this last photo I think the sort of day I was trying to portray has been captured the most successfully out of these photos. Still not near as intense as I would’ve liked the colour, but, again, I think I got a bit overly keen on exposure.

I’m looking forward to returning to the moors for more photography and adventuring in the future.

IMG_20150623_0022a
Towards the town of Ilkley
4 thoughts on “On Ilkley Moor Baht’at

  1. I enjoyed your post on Ilkley moor – it really is a superb place and I spend a lot of my time writing and photographing it. I am glad you liked it 🙂 If you are interested in a return visit then this blog (written by a good friend of mine) gives a a list of most of the ‘areas of interest’ on the moors – including the prehistoric rock carvings, stone circles and burial tombs. Enjoy 🙂 https://megalithix.wordpress.com/ Just type in ‘ilkley moor’ in the search box… – James

    Like

    1. Thank you James, glad you enjoyed it 🙂 I’ll take a look at the blog, that’s fantastic, it’s definitely somewhere I plan to revisit on more than one occasion and explore!

      Like

Leave a Reply

